Posted by: morgangoesabroad | August 11, 2010

Tickets, Trips and Travel Apps

By some miracle, my weekend started on Monday this week and I’ve had three days in a row off of work. You know what that means…shopping for my trip! Overall, I’ve been very frugal this summer in preparation for moving across the Atlantic…but how am I supposed to really get excited without new ‘Spain’ things?! This reasoning is how I’ve justified purchasing my ‘Spain’ boots, my ‘Spain’ bag, my ‘Spain’…haircut? Maybe that one was a bit of a stretch… Long story short, making the rule that I will not buy any clothes or accessories this summer that I will not be taking with me to Spain has only led to researching overweight baggage fees.

This week though with all of my free time I have made a few interesting discoveries that got me REALLY excited for leaving, and also were very economical. My two girlfriends who will also be studying abroad in Europe (one in England, one also in Spain, but Madrid) and I have been trying to work out a trip to Germany for Oktoberfest. From the beginning of our planning I have just accepted that this trip would be a once in a lifetime chance and worth whatever (most likely expensive!) cost. So imagine my surprise to find out that not only does my friend Emily have family friends who LIVE in Munich and have invited us to stay for a few days, but there is an airport only an hour outside of Granada that I can fly to and from Munich to for ONLY $75 (or 52 euros)! Needless to say, I now own a pair of these tickets and my first trip while abroad is officially planned for the end of September! (p.s. Ryanair.com is THE cheapest way to get around Europe).

After that all fell in to place yesterday, I was looking on itunes for travel apps just for fun. I do not have an iphone, or any cellphone that will even work overseas in general, but I do have an itouch that I am planning on bringing so I figured, why not spice it up a little? I’m usually in awe of the internet but last night the apps I found were just too cool. First of all, all of the ones I downloaded were FREE except for one that was a dollar. The coolest one is a map of Granada that stays fully loaded on my ipod so I don’t even need internet access to see it. Maybe the average person wouldn’t get so excited about this, but it will be crucial for me because I happen to have an excellent talent for getting lost…I also downloaded an app for google earth (who doesn’t love google earth??)  one for finding cheap flights, one for finding food and attractions and lastly, an app to organize all of my travel itineraries. All I do is forward any confirmation emails to this address and all plans automatically get recorded and filed away on my ipod. Also a good app for me because in addition to getting myself lost, I also manage to lose pretty much anything else that is important too 🙂 Now I just have to make sure I don’t lose my ipod…

Responses

  1. Hi Morgan!
    Came across your blog, cute post! You mentioned Iphone apps, and incidentally a friend of mine wrote on the subject of study abroad iphone apps! in case there are any you missed, here’s the link:
    http://bit.ly/cAIC9P

    Have a great trip!!

  2. Great posts! I could picture you saying it out loud and look forward to following your trip!


Leave a Reply

Categories

