Posted by: morgangoesabroad | August 4, 2010

Last Month in the States

So I’m  new to the whole blogging thing and somewhat of a skeptic, but I thought it’d be the best way to keep in touch with family and friends while I am off having the time of my life in Europe this fall…sooo here it goes:

Today marks a MONTH until I leave for Spain. I’m sort of in denial about it.  This is something that I have been looking forward to ever since my sister studied abroad her junior year in college, and it’s just so surreal that its actually here. I am oddly most excited about the fact that my three closest friends from college will be studying abroad this semester also. We are all four going different places, which is even better. To me, this is a time to reinvent yourself and really explore new places and people and experiences- going into it with someone you already know really well would be an Achilles heel. On the flip side, having three people to compare experiences with and understand what you’re going through- priceless. I’m already thinking it will be hard to go back to school and normal life and I haven’t even left yet, but knowing I”ll have them makes me feel so much better!

This is also a weird time for me right now because my parents are in the process of moving from my hometown, Charlottesville, Va to Harrisburg Pa. They will be moving into the new house just two days before I leave the country, which is very exciting but nerve wracking to say the least. Especially considering I am not even living in Charlottesville this summer (or even Virginia!) but in Raleigh, NC with my two sisters. Add to that the fact that I go to school in Maryland, but am studying abroad with the University of Delaware, and I’ve officially got the entire mid-east coast covered. I definitely recommend staying organized to anyone interested in studying abroad, but in my case I’ve had to be extremely on top of it. My life in the ‘states’  is  all over the place this summer and there have been so many things to take care of.

That said, FINALLY I have gotten all of the nitty gritty things taken care of  like paperwork and visas and insurance and the only thing left to do is to start getting excited about leaving!! España aquí vengo!

Responses

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Way to go Morgan. Click your heels and take off!

  3. Very nicely done. I even laughed out loud a few times. I look forward to reading this regularly while you are overseas.

  4. I hope you have an incredible semester! I’ll definitely read your blog this fall.

    xoxo
    Charlotte

  5. Hey Morgan,
    I love your blog and will keep in touch by reading it often. You have a way with words! I can see Spain through your eyes.

    Love you,
    Grandma


Leave a Reply

Categories

